Australian Postgraduate Awards

Australian Postgraduate Awards (APA) scholarships are awarded to students of exceptional research potential who undertake a higher degree by research at an eligible Australia higher education provider (provider). Australian citizens, New Zealand citizens, and holders of Australian permanent resident visas are eligible to receive an APA. From 2011, commencing International Postgraduate Research Scholarship (IPRS) holders will also be eligible to apply for an APA.

APA scholarships are available for a period of two years for a Research Masters or three years, with a possible extension or six months, for a Research Doctorate. Award holders receive an annual stipend to assist with general living costs and may also be eligible for other allowances.

Individual providers are responsible for managing the scholarship process including application, selection and offers to students. To find out more about how to apply you will need to contact your chosen provider directly. Contact details and information about the application process for an APA can be found on their website.

More general information about APA can be found on the Department of Education's (opens in new window) website.

The requirements for the APA scheme are in Chapter 2 of the Commonwealth Scholarships Guidelines (Research) 2010 (opens in new window).

Return to top

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy